Rhodes East Africa Scholarship : Rwanda, Burundi, South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda
Viewed: 153

University of Oxford (Fully funded)

All displine

Opening Date: 2018-08-01

Deadline Date: 2018-08-31

University of Oxford (Fully funded)

Rhodes East Africa Scholarship :  Rwanda, Burundi,  South Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda

INFORMATION FOR CANDIDATES – for selection for 2019 only (This Memorandum cancels those issued for previous years)


Background Information The Rhodes Scholarship programme is the oldest (established 1903), and perhaps the most prestigious, international scholarship programme in the world. Administered by the Rhodes Trust in Oxford, the programme offers more than 100 fully-funded Scholarships each year for postgraduate study at the University of Oxford in the UK - one of the world’s leading universities. Selection Committees for the Scholarships are looking for young leaders of outstanding intellect and character who are motivated to engage with global challenges, committed to the service of others and show promise of becoming value-driven, principled leaders for the world’s future. The Selection Committees are looking for the following:

·        academic excellence (e.g. First Class Honours or GPA of minimum 3.7 out of 4.0, or equivalent). Further details on the academic requirements can be found under ‘Eligibility Criteria’ below

·        energy to use your talents to the full (as demonstrated by mastery in areas such as sports, music, debate, dance, theatre, and artistic pursuits, particularly where teamwork is involved)

·        truth, courage, devotion to duty, sympathy for and protection of the weak, kindliness, unselfishness and fellowship

·        moral force of character and instincts to lead, and to take an interest in your fellow human beings.

Please see the Scholarships area of the Rhodes Trust website for full details:  


The information below assumes that you have read and familiarised yourself with the basic selection criteria for the Rhodes Scholarships on the Rhodes Trust website. You should also pay close attention to the detailed Conditions of Tenure for the Scholarship.

1.   Closing Date Applications must be submitted online by 23:59 East Africa Time (EAT), Friday, 31 August 2018.

2.   Eligibility Criteria


a. Nationality/citizenship: You must be a citizen of Burundi, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania or Uganda.

b. Education/residency: You must have been resident in one or more of the countries listed above, or Kenya, for at least five of the last ten years.

c. Age: You must have reached your 19th and not have passed your 26th birthday on 1 October 2019, which means you must have been born after 30 September 1993 and on or before 1 October 2000. Exceptions, extending the upper age limit by no more than 2 years, may be made for students who have undertaken an undergraduate degree of five years or more, at the discretion of the National Secretary. In such cases, exceptions will only be considered for applicants born after 30 September 1991 and on or before 1 October 2000.


d. Academic achievement: You must have completed (or will have completed by no later than July 2019) an undergraduate degree from a college or university (normally a Bachelor’s degree) to a sufficiently high standard to be admitted to postgraduate study at the University of Oxford. This would normally be the equivalent of a First Class, or a GPA of 3.7 or more. In this respect, please note carefully the requirements for your chosen course at Oxford.


e. English Language requirement: You must have a sufficiently high standard of English to meet the English language proficiency requirements (at the Higher Level listed) of the University of Oxford:


f. Given the very intense international competition for places at the University of Oxford, candidates studying in Burundi or South Sudan will have a greater chance of successful admission to Oxford if they have an Honours degree (or have taken an Honours year) from a University outside of the their country or if they have studied to RHODES TRUST STANDING UP FOR THE WORLD Page | 2 Registered Charity Nos. 232492, 314199, 1159648 EAST AFRICA Masters level within their country.


Please contact your National Secretary if you require further advice. Candidates may wish to consider applying to the Rhodes Trust’s sister Foundation, The Mandela Rhodes Foundation (, to pursue an Honour’s year or a Master’s degree prior to making an application for the Rhodes Scholarship. Multi-jurisdictional Candidates: If you meet the eligibility criteria for more than one Rhodes Constituency, you must only apply to one.

You should apply to the Rhodes Constituency with which you have the greatest connection. Inter-jurisdictional Candidates: If, as a result of moving between Rhodes Constituencies, you do not meet the eligibility criteria for any single Rhodes Constituency, you may be eligible to apply for inter-jurisdictional consideration.


Please visit the ‘Which Scholarship?’ page for further details. Global Scholarship Candidates: If you are not eligible to apply to any existing Rhodes Constituency (see list here) and you are not eligible to apply for inter-jurisdictional consideration, then you can apply for a Global Scholarship, subject to meeting all other Global Scholarship eligibility criteria and subject to institutional nomination. Please visit the ‘Which Scholarship?’ page for further details.


Please see the Scholarships area of the Rhodes Trust website for full details:


All applicants will be emailed with the outcome of their application by 15 November 2018.